Balance

Okay . . . so it gets dark now at about 4:30. Yes, stick season (appropriately named by my favorite Uncle John) is upon us which means that the trees are barren, the dirt roads have turned to a mixture of muck and ice and to most ‘normal people’ this seems like a good excuse to kick back and read a good book, watch some t.v. or eat a bowl of ice cream (well alright this happens anyways). I however need my endorphin kick to help keep my equilibrium’ and to get rid of  S.A.D. (Seasonal Affective Disorder-What an appropriate acronym!).

It is at this point where the cozy couch and radiant heat warmed floors are beckoning to me to stay that I must think back about day after day at Colby training for crew in darkness and frigid temperatures on the road, in the weight room (at 5 a.m.) and on the evil torture machine known as the erg to find my motivation to get up and go. Due to my libra personalities I am constantly trying to find balance and believe me this is a constant inner struggle especially when coupled with the sometimes crippling effects of ‘perfectionism.’

I need running. I must get out there and “just do it.” (NIKE) even in the dark, cold, rain, and even snow. I have unlocked the key to my inner peace. (I knew this before but somewhere along the way I went down the wrong trail.) By finding my balance point this way I am beginning to able to take risks and to let go in other ways.

“You only ever grow as a human being if you’re outside your comfort zone.

– Percy Cerutty

A reminder of awesome headlamp runs -VT 100 on 100 2011
Leave a Reply

