Introduction to winter adventures

I am a “flatlander” from the suburbs of Philadelphia who ended up landing way up here in Northern NH when I fell in love with a future organic egg farmer. I am not sure that I could have ever imagined this to be my life. Now that I am here though I couldn’t imagine living anywhere else. Living here, nature has become my playground, my training ground, my stress relief, and my adventure. I am excited that J and I are raising our two kids here and LOVE introducing them to the outdoors and all that the outdoors has to offer.

This winter it has been difficult to get outside to play in the snow with the kids due to the ever-changing weather and also lack of snow and prevalence of ice (not exactly good conditions for trekking around with a 3.5 year old and 18 month old). But finally, now that it is March there is plenty of snow to play in and adventures to be had.

Seeing my 18 month old son out in the snow and sun today trying out his new snowshoes for the first time and watching him as he “hiked” up the “mountain” made me smile at his pure joy. He did not want to go back down the hill and stopped several times to just look at the bright blue sky and puffy white clouds.  Children are always good reminders of how to take it all in and just enjoy. It is this attitude that I try to carry with me now that I am a mom. I can’t wait for the outdoor adventures to continue!

I can’t wait until Piper and Brock can join me on some of my racing adventures, perhaps on snowshoes, racing up a mountain!

Leave a Reply

